Magical Focus
A Magical Focus is an enchanted item used by a mage to store "charges" of their spells. The use of a focus is the signature ability of the Artificer
and an optional feat for the Witch and Magus.
Creating a Focus
Any object can serve as a mage's focus, though typical choices are items that are easily carried and pointed at targets, such as a wand or staff.
To turn an object into a magical focus, the mage must cast the Create Focus enchantment on it. This special enchantment is part of the school of
Metamagic and can't be learned through study. The mage wishing to use the focus must be the one to perform the enchantment, and a mage can only
have one focus at a time.
Using a Focus
Once a mage has created a focus, they become permanently attuned to it until the item is disenchanted or they create a new focus.
When a focus user casts a spell while holding their focus, they can choose to store the spell in their focus if they cast it successfully.
The spell remains stored in the focus at the specified level of amplification indefinitely.
A mage holding their focus can release stored charges of spells as an action.
A focus is limited by the total amount of energy it can store. As the user of a focus hones their magical skills,
the amount of energy their focus can contain increases.
Magical Focus Rules
- A focus can be any object. The size of the object has no effect on its functionality, however it must be small enough to be held in one or two hands by its user.
- An object that is a magical focus can't have any other enchantments on it.
- A focus can only be used by the creature that created it via the Create Focus enchantment. In the hands of any other creature, it has no magical properties, though it can be detected as magical.
- A creature can't create a focus for use by another creature, willingly or otherwise. The user of the focus must be the one to cast the enchantment.
- Spells cast by creatures other than the user of a focus can't be stored in it.
- The attunement to a focus can't be broken by any means other than the object being disenchanted, destroyed, relaced with a new focus, or the death of its creator.
- Attunement to a focus does not count as a creature's normal attunement to an enchanted item.
- A mage can only have one focus at a time. If they create another, the old focus becomes disenchanted.
- The energy cost of a spell stored in a focus is consumed when the spell is stored. No energy is required to release the spell.
- The spell charges in a focus last indefinitely until used. They do not reset on resting or need to be regularly maintained like Prepared Spells do.
- Spell charges can't be transferred to a new focus when replacing one.
- If a focus is destroyed, disenchanted, or replaced while it still contains spell charges, all remaining charges are released from it simultaneously and instantly.