Objects Rule
The Objects Rule describes how actions, primarily spells affect items and creatures.
Spells that use the keyword Targeting require the caster to choose one or more targets as they cast the spell. Those targets can't be changed, even if reactions
take place before the spell that change the position or state of the targets. All targeting spells target a discrete object unless the spell gives more specific limitations
on what targets are valid. Some spells allow the caster to target a specific point in space within their range.
Definition of an Object
- Any discrete or separate object, that can be clearly distinguised and interacted with separately from its surroundings, counts as an object for the purposes of spell targeting.
- There must be a clear path to the object being targeted (it must not be fully enclosed in another object or behind a barrier you can't pass through.)
- A spell can't target half of an intact object, but it can target pieces of an object that have been broken apart.
- Quantities of fluid materials are objects as long as the spell can target the entire quantity; otherwise, an amount of a fluid must be separated (i.e. into two different containers) to count as separate objects. Some spells specifically target up to a certain amount of liquid or gas; these can be used without separating that amount from a larger amount.
- All creatures are objects, but not all objects are creatures. (A spell that targets an object can target a creature, but a spell that specifically targets creatures can't target an object that isn't a creature.)
- Objects that are touching or attached to other objects still count as separate objects unless they have always been parts of the larger object. For example, a doorknob can be targeted separately from the door it's mounted on, but not the individual tines of a fork or the branches of a tree.
- An object is within range as long as at least some part of it is within the specified distance to the caster, even if the whole object isn't.
- The object must be of a size or at a distance such that the caster can see the entire object or visually comprehend the full extent of it. For example, a spell couldn't target the entirety of planet Earth by being aimed at the ground.
- The GM is the final judge of whether any object can be targeted, and can make exceptions to these rules on a case-by-case basis (see the Rule of Cool) or may increase the difficulty of an action if they judge targeting that object to be more difficult than average.
- In general, a spell can't be made to inflict more harm than it normally does just by targeting specific objects or perceived weak points (unless the creature in question has such weak points defined as called-shot targets.) For example, a caster can't use Minor Conjuration, a spell which has no damage value, as an attack by conjuring a substance inside an enemy's lungs or bloodstream. Attempting to "break" a spell's mechanics in this and similar ways is generally bad for the game experience and should be disallowed by the GM.
Definition of a Point
- A point is any location in empty space within the range of the spell. A space is empty if a creature could move into it.
- The chosen point can't be inside of an object unless the caster can see that point or, in the GM's judgment, knows the precise location of that point.
- The chosen point can't be inside of a creature unless, in the GM's judgment, the caster knows the precise location of that point. The GM might, for instance, require a caster to have extensive knowledge of anatomy in order to target a point inside a specific vital organ or weak point, and such an action would be treated as a called shot with a relevant roll penalty.
- The same rules that apply to targeting objects apply to targeting points - a spell doesn't deal more damage or cause greater general harm just by being cast at a specific point. Prestidigitation for example specifies in its rules that none of its effects can cause harm in any way - even if sparks are conjured in a creature's eyes.