Prepared Spells
The ability to Prepare Spells is the key ability of the Scholar and an optional feat for the Researcher. Prepared casters are able to
cast a number of spells per day without using any Energy and without making a skill check.
Preparing spells requires the caster to Meditate at the start of every day. If their concentration is broken or they are unable to meditate, they are unable to prepare any spells
and must rely on normal spellcasting.
Prepared spells last for one day. Any unspent prepared spells are lost after 24 hours, and are fully reset the next time you prepare spells.
Spell Slots
Prepared spellcasters have a set number of Spell Slots each day. When preparing spells, you must which spell to prepare in each slot.
A spell can only be prepared in a slot of its base level or higher. For example, the Level 2 spell Frostbite
cannot be prepared in a Level 1 spell slot, but it can be prepared in a Level 2 or 3 slot.
Amplifying Prepared Spells
If a spell is prepared in a significantly higher-leveled slot than its base level, it is automatically amplified to the next-lowest
whole number multiple of the spell's base level. For example, preparing Frostbite in a Level 4 or 5 spell slot will cause it to be amplified to Frostbite II.
Prepared Spell Rules
- The prepared caster can spend one hour to prepare their spells. Once complete, prepared spells last for up to 24 hours or until the next time spells are prepared.
- Ritual spells and Enchantments cannot be prepared.
- For each available spell slot, the caster may choose a spell they know of that level or lower to prepare in that slot.
- Researchers can only prepare spells in their school(s) of magic. Scholars can prepare any spell they know.
- A spell prepared in a slot of a higher level becomes automatically amplified to the highest factor able to be prepared in that slot. (Divide the level of the spell slot by the base level of the spell, then round down.)
For example, a level 2 spell prepared in a level 7 spell slot is amplified to level 6, the highest whole-number multiple of 2 that does not exceed 7.
- Prepared spells do not consume energy and can be cast even if the caster is at zero energy.
- If a spell you prepared requires a spellcasting skill check, you gain a +5 feature bonus.
- Prepared spells do not prevent the caster from using normal spellcasting. They can still spend energy to cast any spell they know, prepared or otherwise, or if all their spell slots have been expended.
- When preparing an enchantment, the ætherium and other material costs are still required and consumed.