SPACER

◀ Rulebooks

Ver. 1.3.1

Readied Actions

A Readied Action is a combat action you prepare for ahead of time. By spending the time to prepare the action, you can carry it out as a zero-frame reaction whenever a certain condition is met, such as the targeted enemy moving within range of your attack.

You may ready any action that takes a number of frames during your turn. At the time you ready an action, you must meet the requirements to perform it. Any necessary tools must be in your hands, and you must choose any targets for your action at the time you ready it.

You spend the action frames necessary to perform the action at the time you ready it. If readying an action takes multiple turns, the action is not fully readied until all necessary frames have passed.

Readying an Action

During your turn, you may ready yourself for any action you can normally perform. You must have enough action frames left in your current turn to perform that action, but instead of performing it right away, you ready yourself to act when the time is right. You can also use reactions to ready an action.

You must declare the action you're readying and the conditions on which you will act, at the time you ready the action. For example, you might ready yourself to shoot a specific enemy with your crossbow when it enters your line of sight.

Readied Action Conditions

You might ready yourself to act when one or more of the following conditions are met:

Waiting

While you have an action readied, you gain the waiting status effect. You can't change your readied action once it's been prepared. Using a reaction while you have a readied action pending will cancel it.

You can cancel your readied action at any time as a free action, including to react to something else or to use opportunity actions, but the frames you spent on it during your turn will have been wasted.

Resolving Readied Actions

The instant the conditions for your readied action are met, it occurs immediately as though it were a reaction. It takes place before any additional actions the active combatant declares.

If two or more combatants' readied actions trigger at the same time, the order they resolve in is determined by the current initiative order.

Once your readied action has been completed, you are free to use any other reactions as you normally would until your next turn.