Sustained Spells
List of Spell Types
A sustained spell is a type of spell that can be cast continuously for an ongoing effect over multiple rounds.
Casting Sustained Spells
Sustained spells take one frame to start casting. This action is known as initializing the spell. Any skill checks needed to cast the spell are made as part of this action. If the spell has the Targeting
keyword, the caster chooses all targets for the spell during this action. Initializing the spell has no immediate effect.
If you successfully initialize the sustained spell, you may spend any number of frames during your turn to sustain it. The spell's effects take place each time you do so. The result of the check(s) rolled during initialization of
the spell stand for the full duration of the spell. You must sustain the spell at least once during each round in order to continue casting it. If you don't, or if your concentration is broken, the spell ends and you must initialize it again.
While you're sustaining a spell, you're preoccupied. You must sustain the spell at least once each turn in order to continue casting it.
If you finish a turn without sustaining the spell or if your concentration is broken, you must restart the spell and make another skill check (if necessary) to perform it again.
Sustained spells with the Concentrated keyword end when the caster takes any other action.
Sustained Spell Rules
- The act of initializing a sustained spell has no direct effect, but involves the caster rolling (if necessary) to cast the spell and choosing any targets.
- Sustained spells can be sustained any number of times per round. The effects of the spell take place each time the spell is sustained.
- The act of sustaining a spell is exempt from the repetition tax, but initializing new sustained spells is subject to the tax.
- reaction frames can be used to sustain spells.
- A sustained spell must be sustained once per round in order to persist. At the beginning of the caster's turn, if they didn't initialize or sustain the spell at least once since the beginning of their previous turn (using either an action or reaction frame), the spell ends and must be initialized again.
- Unless the sustained spell is Asomatic, at least one hand must remain free at all times while sustaining a spell, otherwise the spell ends.
- Barring any exemplary feats, a caster can only sustain one spell at a time. Initializing another sustained spell causes any spell currently being sustained to end as a free action. Non-Sustained spells with the Ephemeral keyword do not count as sustaining a spell for the purpose of this limitation.
- If a sustained spell has the Targeting keyword, targets are declared before rolling when the spell is initialized, and cannot be changed. If the target moves out of range or otherwise becomes an invalid target, the spell can't be sustained. If the caster is unable to reach the target and sustain the spell successfully during their turn, the spell will end as usual.